Here’s how much Exxon paid Republicans who urged Trump to ditch Paris climate deal

22 Republicans were behind the push to get President Trump to leave the Paris climate agreement. Those senators are also favorites of polluters.

A letter sent to the White House last week — signed by 22 of the most conservative Republicans in the U.S. Senate — rejected the overwhelming global scientific consensus behind climate change in favor of short-term economic growth. Senator James Inhofe (R-Oklahoma) led the coalition of Republicans who co-signed the letter, which calls on Trump to exit the climate accords so he can successfully repeal the Obama administration’s Clean Power Plan. ExxonMobil was one of the chief opponents of the Clean Power Plan, with then-CEO Rex Tillerson (who is now Trump’s Secretary of State) blasting the proposal in a 2015 speech.

“A key risk to fulfilling this objective is remaining in the Paris Agreement. Because of existing provisions within the Clean Air Act and others embedded in the Paris Agreement, remaining in it would subject the United States to significant litigation risk that could upend your administration’s ability to fulfill its goal of rescinding the Clean Power Plan,” the letter reads. “Accordingly, we strongly encourage you to make a clean break from the Paris Agreement.”

Inhofe, who has served in the Senate since 1994, has received $1.8 million from the oil and gas industry throughout his career, according to the Center for Responsive Politics, making the industry his top donor by more than $1 million. Here’s how much all of the letter’s co-signers received from the industry throughout their senate careers, ranging from $184,250 for Senator David Perdue (R-Georgia) to more than $3 million for John Cornyn (R-Texas).

(It should be noted that Luther Strange, the junior senator from Alabama, has only been in his position since January of 2017, as he was appointed to fill the seat vacated by Jeff Sessions when he was confirmed as Attorney General, and no donor data is immediately available for him as of this writing.)

Senator John Barrasso (R-Wyoming): $728,766

Senator Roy Blunt (R-Missouri): $1,143,574

Senator John Boozman (R-Arkansas): $281,352

Senator Thad Cochran (R-Mississippi): $462,890

Senator John Cornyn (R-Texas): $3,031,956

Senator Mike Crapo (R-Idaho): $440,937

Senator Ted Cruz (R-Texas): $2,484,520

Senator Mike Enzi (R-Wyoming): $513,733

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-Utah): $772,179

Senator Mike Lee (R-Utah): $281,620

Senator Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky): $1,975,245

Senator Rand Paul (R-Kentucky): $286,465

Senator David Perdue (R-Georgia): $184,250

Senator Jim Risch (R-Idaho): $209,900

Senator Pat Roberts (R-Kansas): $817,150

Senator Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota): $204,900

Senator Tim Scott (R-South Carolina): $523,276

Senator Richard Shelby (R-Alabama): $532,846

Senator Luther Strange (R-Alabama): (NO DATA AVAILABLE)

Senator Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina): $263,400

Senator Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi): $686,876


Tom Cahill is a senior editor for the Resistance Report based in the Pacific Northwest. He specializes in coverage of political, economic, and environmental news. You can contact him via email at [email protected], or follow him on Facebook by clicking here